Carnegie Mellon University
June 08, 2017

MLD Wins Best Paper Awards

Best Student Paper (COLT 2010)
"Theoretical Justification of Popular Link Prediction Heuristics"
Purnamrita Sarkar, Deepayan Chakrabarti, Andrew Moore

Best Paper (ICML 2010)
"Hilbert Space Embeddings of Hidden Markov Models"
Le Song, Byron Boots, Sajid Siddiqi, Geoff Gordon, and Alex Smola

Runnerup Best Student Paper (ICML 2010)
"Modeling Interaction via the Principle of Maximum Causal Entropy"
Brian Ziebart, Anind Dey, Drew Bagnell

Manuela Veloso, the Herbert A. Simon Professor in the Computer Science Department, has been elected president of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI). Veloso will be the fourth AAAI president from Carnegie Mellon, following Allen Newell, Raj Reddy and Tom Mitchell.

William F. Eddy, the John C. Warner Professor of Statistics, will complete his second three year term as chairman of the Committee on National Statistics (CNSTAT) at the National Academies on June 30. CNSTAT is an independent and objective resource for evaluating and improving the work of the highly decentralized U.S. federal statistical system. Eddy is the only person to have chaired both statistics committees at the National Academies, having previously been chairman of the Committee on Applied and Theoretical Statistics.